Chateau Grand Boise vineyard

A natural terroir ...

The vineyards of the Chateau Grand Boise consist of 45 Ha (110 acres) of vines. Some of these vineyards surround the 17th century bastide which majestically dominates the Arc Valley. The rest are scattered throughout the estate, with vines growing on hillside terraces. Thanks to these 77 different plots, a high proportion of whose vines are very old, the estate forms a rich and varied ensemble.

Growing between 300m and 640m (1000 to 2000ft) above sea level the vines are well exposed to the sun, tempered by the effect of altitude: temperature variations here are wider than in the valley itself. This equilibrium is beneficial to the production of high class wines. Equally, it gives more agreeable and natural freshness to rosés.

No chemical fertilizer or weedkiller is used. Defended from any maritime influence by the mountainous massifs which surround it and regularly swept by winds, the terroir is not at all prone to fungal attack. The soils are predominantly a mixture of clay and chalk, with a good proportion of sedimentary limestone.

The vines are ploughed and "deridged" (1). The treatment of the soils excludes any synthetic chemical: being fertilised either by natural means, thanks to the presence of a herd of sheep and their shepherd, or organic/mineral. Hives are witnesses to the natural character of the environment, as bees are very sensitive to pollution of any kind. Today, all vines are grown using organic production methods.

Planting consists principally of the three main varieties grown in Provence: Syrah, Grenache et Cinsault. They are complemented by some Cabernet-Sauvignon and Carignan. Whites are mostly made from Rolle (aka Vermentino) complemented by Semillon and Ugni Blanc.

There are many “vieilles vignes” (very old vines) in Chateau Grand Boise, raising the quality of its wines. They are also in a sense the living memory of the estate: sometimes being more than 100 years old, it is as if they are time travellers and the estate take good care of them.

Chateau Grand Boise also has a dynamic policy of replanting and restoration: as is shown by the replanting of plots in Les Brunets, on the other, south facing slope, in untamed nature (see photos...) and in a unique terroir of .... pink marble, the very same as was used in its time in some of the rooms of the bastide.

Replanting of the Brunets vineyard in a unique terroir of pink marble

(1) Deridging ("décavaillonnage") - ploughing right beside the vines themselves to cut the rootlets (thus encouraging deeper rooting), and to remove weeds.

Chateau Grand'Boise

EnglishFranceFacebook
Chateau Grand Boise
1536 Chemin de Grisole - 13530 Trets-en-Provence - France
Tel. +33 (0)442 292 295 - Fax: +33 (0)442 613 871 - Email:
Grand Boise • 1536 Chemin de Grisole • 13530 Trets • France • Tel. (0)442 292 295 • www.grandboise.com

Vignes du Château Grand Boise

Un Terroir Naturel ...

Le vignoble de Château Grand Boise est constitué de 45 hectares de vignes. Une partie de ce vignoble entoure la bastide du XVIIe siècle qui surplombe majestueusement la vallée de l’Arc. Le restant est disséminé dans tout le domaine, vignes disposées en terrasses à flanc de montagne. Fort de ses 77 parcelles, le domaine forme un ensemble riche et varié avec une forte proportion de vieilles vignes.

Situé entre 300 et 640 mètres d’altitude, avec 80% des parcelles en face nord, Château Grand Boise est un domaine atypique aux amplitudes thermiques plus importantes que dans la vallée. Les équilibres obtenus sont ainsi plus propices à la production de grands vins. Ici s'expriment la fraicheur, la tension, la minéralité entourant cette vigne méditerranéenne.

Aucun engrais ni désherbant chimique n’est utilisé. Protégé de l’influence maritime par les massifs qui l’entourent et régulièrement balayé par les vents, le lieu est peu propice aux maladies. Les sols sont majoritairement argilo-calcaires avec une belle proportion de calcaires sédimentaires.

Les vignes sont labourées et décavaillonnées(1). La fertilisation des sols exclut tout produit chimique : les engrais sont soit naturels, grâce à la présence d’un troupeau de moutons et de son berger, soit de type organo-minéral. Les ruches attestent du caractère naturel de l’environnement : les abeilles sont très sensibles à toute pollution. Le domaine est aujourd'hui converti à l'agriculture biologique.

L’encépagement laisse la part belle aux trois cépages principaux de la Provence: syrah, grenache et cinsault. Ils sont complétés par le cabernet-sauvignon et le carignan. Les blancs sont élaborés majoritairement à partir de rolle (vermentino), avec un complément de sémillon et d’ugni blanc.

Les vieilles vignes sont nombreuses à Château Grand Boise, elles accroissent la qualité de ses vins. Elles semblent traverser le temps et le domaine en prend grand soin.

Château Grand Boise a aussi une politique dynamique de replantation et de restauration : témoin, cette replantation de parcelles au lieu-dit Les Brunets, sur l’autre versant à la nature sauvage (voir photos...) et orienté vers le sud, sur un terroir absolument unique de… marbre rose, le même qui a été utilisé, en son temps, dans certaines pièces de la Bastide.

La replantation du vignoble des Brunets dans un terroir unique de marbre rose

(1) Décavaillonnage : action de labourer au raz des pieds de vignes pour couper les radicelles (et favoriser ainsi un enracinement profond) et éliminer les autres végétaux.

Château Grand'Boise

FrançaisEnglish versionFacebook
Château Grand Boise
1536 Chemin de Grisole - 13530 Trets-en-Provence - France
Tél. +33 (0)4 42 29 22 95 - Fax : +33 (0)4 42 61 38 71 - Email :
Château Grand Boise • 1536 Chemin de Grisole • 13530 Trets • Tél. 04 42 29 22 95 • www.grandboise.com


Informations légales - Photos et Réalisation du site : Studio Amarante